Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

HKS Super SQV Blow off valve VS Stock Diverter Valve

Old May 28, 2008, 11:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HKS Super SQV Blow off valve VS Stock Diverter Valve

hey everybody!

this is my first post on the forrum so please forgive any ignorance......

i just traded in my 08 GTI for a 06 Evo 9 SE....the previous owner had a HKS Super SQV Blow off valve so he could hear the 'wooshing' sound inbetween shifts, but i prefer a silent setup.....

he kept and i now have the stock diverter valve and i am debating between returning it back to stock, or buying a kit to turn the HKS blow off valve into a diverter valve........i haven't decided to do the work myself or having it professionally done.....

question is: is the HKS SQV really a more solid valve, or is just an opportunity to make your car make noise?......i know very little about turbo systems and i'm brand new to the Evo scene

i don't plan on doing too many mods......i purchased this car because it serves my purposes in it's stock form.....even though i love it, i had to do too much to my GTI to get it to be relialble on the track.....

i MIGHT do a state 1 chip in the future, but that would be about it.....the previous owner also installed a custom 3 inch exhaust with a racing CAT......would the stock valve handle a set up like that O.K. or would that be tough on it?.....i know the stock valve on my GTI could barely handle stock boost and definately had to be upgraded to go to even a stage one chip.....

i appreciate any comments!....thanks much!
Old May 28, 2008, 11:03 AM
Account Disabled

stock IX BOV still a great piece, I would throw it back on.
Old May 28, 2008, 11:04 AM
Account Disabled

By the way, we don't do Staged Chips but yes you're stocker will handle more then what you're going to do with it.
Old May 28, 2008, 12:27 PM

Originally Posted by Import Junky